february, 2022

202201febAll DayCall for entries: European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2022 Event Organized By: European Commission and Europa Nostra

Event Details

The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards aim to identify, recognise and champion best practices in the conservation of cultural heritage and as well as innovative developments and knowledge in the care and promotion of tangible and intangible cultural heritage. Through the power of example, the scheme enables the exchange and transfer of experiences and skills across borders and between communities in Europe and beyond. It increases the visibility and understanding of the multiple values of cultural heritage for Europe’s society, economy, environment and culture.

The Awards were launched in 2002 by the European Commission and are supported by the Creative Europe Programme. Since its launch, Europa Nostra, the European Voice of Civil Society Committed to Cultural Heritage, has been responsible for running this awards scheme.

As of 2022, on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of this fruitful partnership, the categories of entry and the selection procedure have been revised in line with the latest developments related to heritage policy and practice in Europe.

The renewed five awards categories are:

  • Conservation & Adaptive Reuse
  • Research
  • Education, Training & Skills
  • Citizens Engagement & Awareness-raising
  • Heritage Champions

Entries can be related to tangible, intangible or digital heritage. The scope of the entries can be ranging from small to large, from local to European and international.

The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards will honour up to 30 outstanding heritage achievements, among which up to five Grand Prix will be awarded within thematic areas that are transversal to the five awards categories.

The following are the thematic areas of the Grand Prix for the 2022 edition:

  • Innovation
  • Digital Transformation
  • Sustainability & Climate Action
  • Social Cohesion & Well Being
  • International Relations

Each winner of a Grand Prix will receive a monetary award of €10.000

In addition, the Public Choice Award will be presented to one of the selected award winners, following an online vote conducted via the Europa Nostra website.

All entries must be submitted online via europeanheritageawards.eu

The deadline for submissions is 1 February 2022.

For more information: Elena Bianchi, Heritage Awards Coordinator, [email protected]



All Day (Tuesday)


European Commission and Europa Nostra

Your email address will not be published.

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.