Winners announced: European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2019

European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2019
European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2019 Image: Europa Nostra

Europa Nostra and the European Commission have announced the winners of the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2019. 25 winners from 16 countries have been recognised for their impressive accomplishments in conservation, research, dedicated service, and education, training and awareness-raising.

The award is funded by the Creative Europe programme. The winners will be honoured at the high-profile European Heritage Awards Ceremony on 29 October in Paris, during the European Heritage Congress.

Europa Nostra Awards will also be given to two remarkable heritage achievements from European countries not taking part in the EU Creative Europe programme, namely Switzerland and Turkey.

Public Choice
Citizens from around Europe and the rest of the world can now vote online for the Public Choice Award and mobilise support for the winning achievement(s) from their own or another European country.

2019 Award Winners

Category Conservation
▪ Castle of Montreuil Bonnin, FRANCE
▪ Fortified Settlement of Mutso, GEORGIA
▪ Chapel of the Holy Shroud, Turin, ITALY
▪ Cathedral of Saint Bavo, Haarlem, THE NETHERLANDS
▪ The Queen Louise Adit Complex, Zabrze, POLAND
▪ Pavilion for the Presentation of Archaeological Remains, Celje, SLOVENIA
▪ Lithica Quarry of s’Hostal, Menorca, SPAIN
▪ Oratory of the Partal Palace in the Alhambra, Granada, SPAIN
▪ The Portal of Glory, Santiago de Compostela, SPAIN
▪ Medieval Tithe Barn, Ingatorp, SWEDEN
▪ Yr Ysgwrn, Trawsfynydd, Wales, UNITED KINGDOM

Category Research
▪ Solak 1: a Model of Predictive Archaeology, ARMENIA/ITALY
▪ VERONA: Van Eyck Research in OpeN Access, BELGIUM
▪ RomArchive – Digital Archive of the Roma, GERMANY

Category Dedicated Service
▪ VVIA – Flemish Association for Industrial Archaeology, BELGIUM
▪ Fortidsminneforeningen – National Trust of Norway, NORWAY

Category Education, Training and Awareness-Raising
▪ TUMO Center for Creative Technologies, Yerevan, ARMENIA
▪ History Radar 1938, Vienna, AUSTRIA
▪ Betina Museum of Wooden Shipbuilding, CROATIA
▪ Monument Europe, GERMANY
▪ Stewards of Cultural Heritage, GERMANY
▪ Greek Paths of Culture, Athens, GREECE
▪ Commonlands: Cultural Community Mapping in Alpine Areas, Parco Nazionale Val Grande, ITALY
▪ Le Dimore del Quartetto, Milan, ITALY
▪ A Place at the Royal Table, Warsaw, POLAND

A Europa Nostra Award is also presented to a remarkable heritage achievement from a European country not taking part in the EU Creative Europe programme.

Category Conservation
▪ Boğaziçi University Gözlükule Excavation Research Center, Tarsus, TURKEY 

Category Dedicated Service
▪ Mr. Léonard Gianadda, Martigny, SWITZERLAND

This article was originally published in English. Texts in other languages are AI-translated. To change language: go to the main menu above.