12 new European Heritage Label sites receive awards

The European Commission awarded the European Heritage Label to 12 sites that have played a significant role in the history and culture of Europe and the building of the European Union.

Source: European Commission

On 13 and 14 June, the 2022 Award Ceremony of the European Heritage Label in Brussels, celebrated the twelve sites selected in 2021. The European Heritage Label is a recognition of objects, events and locations that have played a significant role in the history and culture of Europe and the building of the European Union.

The labels are awarded every two years and are celebrated with a special ceremony. Because the previous award ceremony could not take place due to the corona measures, the representatives of the ten awarded locations of 2019 were also invited to the stage.

Awardees 2019 and 2021

Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture, opened the public ceremony, and, under the umbrella of the European Year of Youth, a debate addressed the role the youth can play to protect the EU’s cultural heritage and shared history. 

Despite the organisations’ efforts to attract and involve young people, the number of youngsters that contributed to these two days was rather limited, one of the attendants mentioned to the European Heritage Tribune.

2021 European Heritage Label sites

Independent experts from across Europe recommended the 12 sites out of 21 sites pre-selected by participating Member States under the 2021 EU Selection.

Ten years after the launching of this EU initiative in 2011, this sixth selection year brings to 60 the total number of sites holding the European Heritage Label.

In 2021, the European Heritage Label is awarded to

Cultural heritage is Europe’s soul. These beautiful sites embody our rich history, they are geographical manifestations of who we are. The European Heritage label sites are amongst the greatest gifts Europe has to offer and it is our duty to preserve them at all costs.

Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth
A collage of some of the 2021 European Heritage Label sites

Read the 2021 Selection Report

Find out more about the selected sites in the 2021 European Heritage Label Selection Report

Find also the Commission Decision on the adoption of these 12 sites.

2019 European Heritage Label sites

  • Archaeological Area of Ostia Antica (Italy)
  • Underwater Cultural Heritage of the Azores (Portugal)
  • Colonies of Benevolence (Belgium, the Netherlands)
  • Living Heritage of Szentendre (Hungary)
  • Kynžvart Castle – Place of diplomatic meetings (Czech Republic)
  • Site of Remembrance in Łambinowice (Poland)
  • Zdravljica – the Message of the European Spring of Nations (Slovenia)
  • Werkbund Estates in Europe
  • Chambon-sur-Lignon Memorial (France)
  • The Three Brothers (Latvia)

About the European Heritage Label

European Heritage Label is a recognition awarded by the European Union to buildings, documents, museums, archives, monuments or events which are seen as milestones in the creation of today’s Europe. The program is managed by the European Commission.

It aims to enhance people’s, and especially young people’s, understanding and appreciation of the European Union’s shared and diverse heritage while contributing.

The European Heritage Label has proven its relevance in strengthening intercultural dialogue and sense of belonging to the European Union. Subsequently, this EU action is instrumental in increasing local cultural tourism, sustainable economic benefits and community building across Europe.

This article was originally published in English. Texts in other languages are AI-translated. To change language: go to the main menu above.